Home  |  This Week  |  Subscribe  |  Classified Ads  |  About Us  |  Contact
9/19/2013 4-H youth, leaders saluted

Summer has closed on 4-H, signaling the annual award ceremony for the 50 plus Custer County kids who put their hearts and souls into their projects.

On Sunday, September 15, the children and their parents gathered at the Saddle Club to eat and mingle, and celebrate accomplishments.

The secret award winner for the 2013 San Isabel Ranch Traveling Trophy, sponsored by Bet Kettle Family, was Taylor Staton.

The secret award winner for the 2013 Harold Vickerman Memorial Awards, sponsored by the Custer County Stockgrowers Association, were Conner Rowley as Exhibitor, and Alan Oloman as Producer.

The winner for the 2013 State 4-H Conference, sponsored by the Custer County 4-H Foundation, was Elly Gluschke.

The grandmaster winners for the 2013 Showmanship Awards, sponsored by Fremont/Custer Farm Bureau, were Conner Rowley as Grand Champion Sr. Master Showmanship, and Lindsey Gillmore as Grand Champion Jr. Master Showmanship.

The winner for outstanding horseman was Elly Gluschke.

The 2013 Grand and Reserve Grand Champions are Anastasia Berry, Billy Berry, Brittney Brandon, Casey Brandon, Lane Byerly, Kayla Carter, Kylie Carter, Lucas Comerford, Katlyn Freeburg, Scott Freeburg, Lindsey Gillmore, Ashley Gillum, Elly Gluschke, Kaya Huffman, George Kroeker, Benjamin Kenfogg, McKensie Penkoff, Katelyn Roberson, Kyle Rose, Conner Rowley, Justice Saraceno, Rachael Schneider, Sierra Stepanich, Grace Watkins, Dalton Wommack, and Dillon Wommack.

The Trailblazers were recognized for their accomplishments, including Andrew Feldman, Johnny Feldmann, Sydney Feldmann, Rebecca Tillotson, Sheyenne Shy, with club leader Michelle Tillotson.

The Cloverbuds were recognized for their accomplishments as well, including Brylee Shy, Kenna Ingram, with club leader Kayla Ingram.

Special awards in appreciation were then given to 4-H leaders Robin Young and Beverly Goertz. -J.E. Ward